The dates for the ninth SPAR KZN School Girls’ Hockey Challenge has been announced. Participants will compete in 10 regional rounds. The tournament is set for a week later than previous years with the usual Northern KZN regional nestling in midway on the 2019 calendar.

Les Galloway (seated), SPAR School Girls’ Hockey Challenge Tournament director, Spar’s Sponsorship Controller Claire Hogg (at centre back). In front are captains representing host schools, (left front) Jade Brandis and Kelsey Dellar (right front). Alongside Hogg are players representing the two regions defending champs, Grace Kitshoff (back left) fand Cara Waud

In March, four tournaments will take place during two weekends. Kicking off the year is the Pietermaritzburg regionals. The Central and Northern regionals of Pietermaritzburg will be played on Sunday, 3 March hosted by one-time winners, St John’s DSG and The Wykeham Collegiate. On 9 March, the Durban North regionals will be hosted at Crawford La Lucia. Durban Girls High School is the venue for the Durban Central regional on 10 March.

The fifth regional tips off the first of two tournaments taking place in April. On 7 April, Amanzimtoti will open its doors for the Durban South regional. The challenge then moves to Port Shepstone for the Sisonke and Ugu Southern KZN regional on 13 April at Creston College.

The final four tournaments will be contested in May. The action moves inland to Newcastle’s St Dominic’s for the Northern KZN event on 4 May. Remaining inland for the Umvoti, uThukela and Umzinyathi regional on 11 May defending champs, Greytown High School will be the host. The next day, the Highway regional will take place at Thomas More College. Wrapping up the regionals, Grantleigh will host the Northern KZN Coastal regional on 19 May.

The finals will be decided in July.