The Durban Chamber of Commerce and Industry congratulated former KZN MEC for Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs Sihle Zikalala on his official inauguration as the new Premier of KwaZulu-Natal.

Zikalala was sworn to his new position on Monday, 27 May, where he later announced his KZN’s new cabinet. Replacing Zikalala as new MEC for EDTEA was former COGTA MEC, Nomusa Dube-Ncube.

Also appointed was Ravi Pillay, as finance MEC, replacing Belinda Scott, who was not re-appointed
to cabinet, along with other former MECs Themba Mthembu (agriculture), Sibongiseni Dhlomo (health) and Mthandeni Dlungwana (education).

The Durban Chamber said Zikalala, has proven during his tenure as MEC to understand the importance of working with the business community and played a crucial role in addressing the concerns of organised business.

Zikalala, during his address, said he fully concurred with President Ramaphosa who said during his inauguration on Saturday “South Africans want action and not just words and promises. And there will be action.”

Zikalala said, “Over the next few weeks the incoming administration will consolidate and begin to implement a comprehensive plan to ensure growth and development of our province.”

New KZN cabinet list reads as below:

  1. Agriculture and Rural Development: MEC Bongi Sithole-Moloi
  2. Provincial Treasury: MEC Ravi Pillay
  3. Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs:
    MEC Sipho Hlomuka

4.Transport, Community Safety and Liaison:
MEC Mxolisi Kaunda

  1. Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs:
    MEC Nomusa Dube-Ncube

MEC Kwazi Mshengu

  1. Social Development:
    MEC Nonhlanhla Khoza
  2. Health:
    MEC Nomagugu Simelane-Zulu
  3. Arts and Culture, Sports and Recreation:
    MEC Hlengiwe Mavimbela
  4. Public Works:
    MEC Peggy Nkonyeni