Isidingo’s Devnarain for SABC board


Isidingo’s Devnarain for SABC board

Isidingo’s Jack Devnarain, aka Rajesh Kumar, has been shortlisted for a position on the permanent SABC board.

Isidingo’s Jack Devnarain, aka Rajesh Kumar, has captured the attention of South African media consumers leading to him being shortlisted by parliaments portfolio committee on communications to be interviewed for a position on the permanent SABC board. The shortlist has been drafted with 36 esteemed media professionals being on it.

Devnarain is one of the longest running actors on the popular SABC 3 soapie. He is known for playing businessman Rajesh Kumar.

Devnarain’s portfolio includes him being a graduate from the University of Natal before he served in the Police service for nine years. Following this, he returned to acting and currently serves as the chairman of the South African Guild of Actors.

It was reported that the Democratic Alliance put Devnarain’s name forward and other parties approved the nomination.

The official Isidingo Twitter account announced the news to fans and waves of support quickly began pouring in.

Devnarain appeals to South African’s to endorse him as a nominee to parliament, “Friends, I never ask too much of you. This time I need your help to bring the voice of the little guy into the National Broadcaster. From over 360 applicants, I’m in the final 36. If we have any pride in our nation, as diverse, opinionated and as dynamic as we are, I ask for your endorsement as one of the 12 Non-Executive Directors on the SABC Board.

“Allow me to be your voice. Give me the leverage to undo the poisonous influence of political scandal that has taken the place of our colorful diversity at one of our key institutions. Let us put this right. All I have is my experience, the values that have guided me through my childhood, and the respect I have earned through my work. It would be my privilege to be your voice on the SABC Board.”

Members of the public have until end of business on Tuesday, 29 August, to comment on the nominees. Comments should be directed to the Committee Secretary, Thembinkosi Ngoma. Email: [email protected]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here